Peggy Gruenke | February 2015 | Law Practice Management for Solos
How to Use LinkedIn to Build Relationships and Track Prospects
Have you ever wondered how many of your connections are clients, referral sources, or potential clients?
- Do you forget to send follow up emails to some of your prospects and referral sources?
- Perhaps you regularly lose the notes that you have collected on your prospects?
- Have you ever wished you remembered how you met a particular prospect and who introduced you?
If any of these situations are true for you, then you would find great value from LinkedIn’s built in organizational tool, the Relationship Tab, available to both free and paid members. Even if you are just getting started with LinkedIn, these are great tools to know how to use. And the larger your network grows, the more valuable you will find this feature to help you keep organized and stay on top of your networking and lead generation efforts.
This feature also allows you to save and record information on contacts in your network that you are not yet connected to (2nd, 3rd, and group connections). The benefit of this is that you can create a list of potential prospects that you would like to connect with, record information that you want to keep handy about them, and then track your efforts to connect with them.
BTW, you don’t need to worry about the information that you keep in this feature: it is all private, so no one else will see what you’ve written.
So let’s get started.
- Just below a member’s image and headline is the Relationship and Contact Info box.
- The Contact Info tab is a quick look at that person’s email and other social profiles they’ve shared.
- The Relationship tab is where you’ll find the real functionality. You can see a timeline of your association (including the date you connected), as well as conversations you’ve had on LinkedIn or Gmail (if you have set up this sync feature.) You can also add notes, set a reminder to follow up, record how you met and assign a tag to the person.
- If you are connected to the person, you will see the date that you Connected to them. If you are not connected yet, it will show the date you Saved as contact.